DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

ADMINISTRATION
3200 East Highway 34
c/o 500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-5070
Phone: (605) 773-3478
Fax: (605) 773-3194

Meno - Revised

To:  South Dakota Law Enforcement Agencies
From: South Dakota Department of Corrections
Date: September 1, 2016

Re:  New Intake Procedures

In April 2016, we updated some of our procedures for the intake process for
individuals sentenced to the South Dakota State Penitentiary (SDSP) and
South Dakota Women'’s Prison (SDWP). After some discussion, we have
made a revision which is at noted * at the beginning of this memo. We
appreciate everyone’s cooperation with these procedures.

*The individual may bring the following items to the penitentiary: driver’s
license, social security card, green card, passport, bank card, birth
certificate or any other form of identification or similar type Reentry items
that can fit into an envelope.

The SDSP intake hours are 7:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Monday- Friday, not
including state recognized holidays.

The SDWP intake hours are 8:00 a.m. — 4:00 p.m. Monday- Friday, not
including state recognized holidays.

If there is a special circumstance that would have a new intake arriving at
SDSP and SDWP outside of these hours we would like a 24 hour notice.

The new intake should arrive at our facility wearing county/jail clothing.
When we accept the individual and bring him/her inside the prison we will
remove the restraints and strip search the individual. We will then return the
restraints and jail clothing to the officer/deputy who delivered the inmate.

No personal items should arrive with the individual with the exception of
medication and certain medically necessary equipment such as eye



glasses, dentures, and prosthetics. We will accept U.S. currency or checks
addressed to the individual. The individual may also have a wedding band
but neither facility allows wedding bands with precious stones or if the cost
of the band exceeds $35.00. All personal items will be returned to the
officer/deputy who delivered the inmate. We will not accept personal
clothing or property.

If an individual being sentenced to the prison has had a high profile case in
the media, if they have any special disability or medical concerns, or if they
have had self-harm attempts or major disciplinary issues at the county jall
such as assaultive to staff or offenders, damage to property, or other
significant disciplinary behaviors we would like 24 hour notice before they
are to arrive at the penitentiary so we have time for preparation. If they
have major disciplinary issues in your facility we would like copies of any
disciplinary reports. If we are notified days in advance of the sentencing
date for such an inmate we will start with making those preparations.

These procedures will be in effect only for inmates arriving upon their
sentencing. There will be no change to inmates already in our prison
system arriving as detainees or parole violators or returning from being out
to court. Nor will there be any changes for inmates arriving via the U.S.
Marshalls or through the Prison Transport System (PTS).

If there are any questions regarding this procedure please contact the
Jameson Shift Commander at 605-367-5122 or the Jameson ID Sgt. at
605-367-5114. For the SD Women'’s Prison please contact the Officer in
Charge at 605-773-5368.
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