

# JUVENILE SERVICES REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAM

### INTRODUCTION

Under South Dakota law, counties are responsible for any necessary housing of juveniles in the court system prior to their disposition. As of July 1, 2003, juveniles must be placed in appropriate facilities, such as juvenile detention centers, shelter care and holdover sites. To assist counties in meeting these requirements, the South Dakota Department of Corrections (DOC) under the auspices of the Formula Grant Program from the U.S. Department of Justice, provides reimbursement to South Dakota for juvenile justice services, as described below. As of January 1, 2013, no county is to exceed a total of \$10,000 in reimbursements in a calendar year and there is an annual program cap of \$40,000 which makes the program first come first serve.

### TRANSPORTATION REIMBURSEMENT

South Dakota Law Enforcement that must transport a juvenile delinquent / CHINS to a shelter care, juvenile detention center or holdover site in the pre-dispositional period or during the first seven days of post-dispositional custody upon DOC commitment may request reimbursement for mileage as follows:

\$.37 per mile

\$10 per hour for each transporter, for up to two transporters

This reimbursement is available to all counties/arresting entities for transportation to and from approved juvenile facilities.

## **DETENTION CARE**

Reimbursement is provided for care in an approved juvenile detention center for expenses up to \$120 per day for up to seven days <u>for youth with a delinquent offense in the pre-dispositional phase or during the first seven days of post-dispositional custody upon DOC commitment.</u> Detention will not be reimbursed for status offenders or CHINS.

Counties that do not participate in a juvenile services compact and do not have a juvenile detention center are eligible. Additionally, the Minnehaha County Juvenile Detention Center in Sioux Falls and the Western South Dakota Juvenile Services Center in Rapid City will accept placements from non-compact counties. These non-compact counties will be reimbursed by the DOC up to \$100 per day.

This detention reimbursement is available one time only per juvenile per incident.

SD DOC Juvenile Reimbursement Program Revised: January 2013

### **SHELTER CARE**

Reimbursement is provided for shelter care in OJJDP-approved facilities for expenses up to \$100 per day for up to seven days in the pre-dispositional phase or during the first seven days of post-dispositional custody upon DOC commitment. Counties which do not participate in a juvenile services compact are eligible. This shelter care reimbursement is available one time only per juvenile per incident.

#### **HOLDOVER PROGRAM**

The DOC will provide reimbursement to entities for new and existing juvenile holdover sites in the state as follows:

Holdover Coordinator: entities are reimbursed for holdover coordinator duties at the rate of up to \$15 per hour for a maximum of eight hours per week. Coordinators are responsible for scheduling and other administrative duties for the holdover site.

Attendants: Entities are reimbursed for attendant care at the rate of up to \$10 per hour for supervision of youth (a maximum of two attendants for up to 72 hours). DOC will also reimburse entities for a \$25 on-call stipend per week for attendants, up to a maximum of two on-call attendants at one time.

Training: DOC will develop a contact to provide statewide training for holdover attendants. Entities will be reimbursed for attendant training at the rate of up to \$10 per hour. Attendants will also be reimbursed directly for associated hotel, meals and mileage costs.

Equipment: Entities are reimbursed for equipment purchased for their new or existing holdover site, up to \$2,000 per site. Examples of such equipment would be a TV/VCR, DVD player, microwave, furniture, small refrigerator, etc. This reimbursement will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

### **CONTACT**

For further information, contact Bridget Coppersmith, Juvenile Justice Specialist at (605) 773-3478, fax (605) 773-3194, South Dakota Department of Corrections, 3200 East Highway 34, Pierre, SD 57501-5070.