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INTRODUCTION 

Under South Dakota law, counties are responsible for any necessary 

housing of juveniles in the court system prior to their disposition.  As of July 

1, 2003, juveniles must be placed in appropriate facilities, such as juvenile 

detention centers, shelter care and holdover sites.  To assist counties in 

meeting these requirements, the South Dakota Department of Corrections 

(DOC) under the auspices of the Formula Grant Program from the U.S. 

Department of Justice, provides reimbursement to South Dakota for juvenile 

justice services, as described below.  
As of January 1, 2014, no county is to exceed a total of $10,000 in 

reimbursements in a calendar year and there is cap of $60,000 for calendar 

year 2014 which makes the program first come first serve. 

 

 

TRANSPORTATION REIMBURSEMENT 

South Dakota Law Enforcement that must transport a juvenile delinquent / 

CHINS to a shelter care, juvenile detention center or holdover site in the pre-

dispositional period or during the first seven days of post-dispositional 

custody upon DOC commitment may request reimbursement as follows: 

  $.37 per mile  

  $10 per hour for each transporter, for up to two transporters 

Meals in accordance with SD per diem regulations 

 

 This reimbursement is available to all counties/arresting entities for 

transportation to and from approved juvenile facilities. 

 

 

DETENTION CARE 

 Reimbursement is provided for care in an approved juvenile detention 

center for expenses up to $120 per day for up to seven days for youth with a 

delinquent offense in the pre-dispositional phase or during the first seven days 

of post-dispositional custody upon DOC commitment.  Detention will not be 

reimbursed for status offenders or CHINS.  If the youth violated probation, 

reimbursement will only be provided for a new delinquent offense. 

       Counties that do not participate in a juvenile services compact and do not 

have a juvenile detention center are eligible.  

 This detention reimbursement is available one time only per juvenile per 

incident. 
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SHELTER CARE 

Reimbursement is provided for shelter care in OJJDP-approved facilities 

for expenses up to $100 per day for up to seven days in the pre-dispositional 

phase or during the first seven days of post-dispositional custody upon DOC 

commitment.  This shelter care reimbursement is available one time only per 

juvenile per incident. 

 

 

HOLDOVER PROGRAM 

The DOC will provide reimbursement to entities for new and existing 

juvenile holdover sites in the state as follows: 

Holdover Coordinator: entities are reimbursed for holdover coordinator 

duties at the rate of up to $15 per hour for a maximum of eight hours per 

week.  Coordinators are responsible for scheduling and other administrative 

duties for the holdover site.   

Attendants: Entities are reimbursed for attendant care at the rate of up to 

$10 per hour for supervision of youth (a maximum of two attendants for up to 

72 hours).  DOC will also reimburse entities for a $25 on-call stipend per 

week for attendants, up to a maximum of two on-call attendants at one time.  

 

 

 ELECTRONIC MONITORING PROGRAM 

Counties that choose to use juvenile electronic monitoring, as ordered by a 

judge as an alternative to detention, may be reimbursed as follows: 

 Passive electronic monitoring: Counties may be reimbursed for passive 

electronic monitoring at a rate of up to $5.00 per day per juvenile not to 

exceed actual costs, with a cap of 30 days total, in the pre-dispositional or 

post-dispositional phase.  Passive electronic monitoring is defined as use of 

the electronic monitoring device and receiver only, with no accompanying 

staff supervision.    

 Active electronic monitoring: Counties may be reimbursed for active 

electronic monitoring at a rate of up to $15 per day per juvenile, with a cap of 

30 days total, in the pre-dispositional or post-dispositional phase.  Active 

monitoring is defined as the use of the electronic monitoring device and 

receiver, along with use of a staff person to carry out drive-by and face-to-face 

checks on the juvenile.  There must be a minimum of five checks per week, 

and at least two of these checks must be face-to-face.  

Equipment: Entities are reimbursed for equipment purchased for their new 

or existing electronic monitoring program. Reimbursement will be considered 

on a case-by-case basis and purchases must be pre-approved by DOC prior to 

purchase of the equipment. $5,000 of a county’s $10,000 cap may be used for 

EM equipment. 

 

 

CONTACT 

 For further information, contact Bridget Coppersmith, Juvenile Justice 

Specialist at (605) 773-3478, fax (605) 773-3194, South Dakota Department 

of Corrections, 3200 East Highway 34, Pierre, SD 57501-5070. 


