

## STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF PARDONS AND PAROLES 1600 N. Drive, P.O. Box 5911 Sioux Falls, SD 57117 - 5911

Ed Ligtenberg, *Director*Kay F. Nikolas, Chair
Mark Smith, Vice Chair
Members

Dave Nelson - Kenneth Albers - Don Holloway - Kevin Krull - Greg Erlandson – Rev. Patricia White Horse-Carda-Myron L Rau

January 21, 2015 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Michael Winder, SD DOC Communications & Information Manager

Nikolas re-elected Chair of Board of Pardons and Paroles

Sioux Falls, S.D.- Kay Nikolas of Sisseton was re-elected to serve as chair of the Board of Pardons and Paroles during the Board's Jan. 15 meeting.

Mark Smith of Pierre was elected to serve as vice-chair.

The Board consists of nine members, with the Governor, Chief Justice of the South Dakota Supreme Court and the Attorney General each appointing three members. One of the appointees by each authority must be an attorney.

Nikolas was appointed to the Board by Chief Justice David Gilbertson in 2009. Smith was a 2013 appointment to the Board by Gov. Dennis Daugaard.

The Board conducts hearings and takes action on inmate petitions for parole and makes recommendations to the Governor on requests for clemency. The Board is administered under the jurisdiction and direction of the Department of Corrections (DOC) but retains quasi-judicial, quasi-legislative, advisory and other non-administrative functions independent of the DOC.

-30-

For more information on the Board of Pardons and Paroles, visit the DOC website at <a href="doc.sd.gov/parole/">doc.sd.gov/parole/</a> and the Boards and Commissions Portal at <a href="boardsandcommissions.sd.gov/">boardsandcommissions.sd.gov/</a>.