JUVENILE SERVICES REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAM

INTRODUCTION

Under South Dakota law, counties are responsible for any necessary
housing of juveniles in the court system prior to their disposition. As of July
1, 2003, juveniles must be placed in appropriate facilities, such as juvenile
detention centers, shelter care and holdover sites. To assist counties in
meeting these requirements, the South Dakota Department of Corrections
(DOC) under funding from the U.S. Department of Justice Formula Grant
Program, provides reimbursement to South Dakota counties for juvenile
justice services, as described below.

No county is to exceed a total of $10,000 in reimbursements for youth
served in calendar year 2016 and there is a program cap of $60,000 for
calendar year 2016 which makes the program first come first serve.

TRANSPORTATION REIMBURSEMENT
South Dakota Law Enforcement that must transport a juvenile delinquent
or CHINS to a shelter care, juvenile detention center or holdover site in the
pre-dispositional period or during the first seven days of post-dispositional
custody upon DOC commitment may request reimbursement as follows:
$.42 per mile
$10 per hour for each transporter, for up to two transporters
Meals in accordance with SD per diem regulations

This reimbursement is available to eligible counties/arresting entities for
transportation to and from approved juvenile facilities outside of their
jurisdiction.

DETENTION CARE

Reimbursement is provided for care in an approved juvenile detention
center for expenses up to $120 per day for up to seven days for youth with a
delinquent offense in the pre-dispositional phase or during the first seven
days of post-dispositional custody upon DOC commitment. Detention will not
be reimbursed for status offenders or CHINS or to counties which operate a
juvenile detention facility or are part of a regional juvenile services compact.
If the youth violated probation, reimbursement will only be provided for a new
delinquent offense.

This detention reimbursement is available one time only per juvenile per
incident.
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SHELTER CARE

Reimbursement is provided for shelter care in Office of Juvenile Justice
and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) approved facilities for expenses up to
$100 per day for up to seven days in the pre-dispositional phase or during the
first seven days of post-dispositional custody upon DOC commitment.

This shelter care reimbursement is available to eligible counties one time
only per juvenile per incident.

HOLDOVER PROGRAM

Reimbursement is provided to eligible counties/arresting entities for new
and existing juvenile holdover sites in the state as follows:

Holdover Coordinator: entities are reimbursed for holdover coordinator
duties at the rate of up to $15 per hour for a maximum of eight hours per
week. Coordinators are responsible for scheduling and other administrative
duties for the holdover site.

Attendants: Entities are reimbursed for attendant care at the rate of up to
$10 per hour for supervision of youth (a maximum of two attendants for up to
72 hours). DOC will also reimburse entities for a $25 on-call stipend per
week for attendants, up to a maximum of two on-call attendants at one time.

ELECTRONIC MONITORING PROGRAM

Eligible counties/arresting entities that choose to use juvenile electronic
monitoring, as ordered by a judge as an alternative to detention, may be
reimbursed as follows:

Passive electronic monitoring: Passive electronic monitoring at a rate of
up to $5.00 per day per juvenile not to exceed actual costs, with a cap of 30
days total, in the pre-dispositional or post-dispositional phase. Passive
electronic monitoring is defined as use of the electronic monitoring device and
receiver only, with no accompanying staff supervision.

Active electronic monitoring: Active electronic monitoring at a rate of
up to $15 per day per juvenile, with a cap of 30 days total, in the pre-
dispositional or post-dispositional phase. Active monitoring is defined as the
use of the electronic monitoring device and receiver, along with use of a staff
person to carry out drive-by and face-to-face checks on the juvenile. There
must be a minimum of five checks per week, and at least two of these checks
must be face-to-face.

Equipment: Entities are reimbursed for equipment purchased for their
new or existing electronic monitoring program. Reimbursement will be
considered on a case-by-case basis and purchases must be pre-approved by
DOC prior to purchase of the equipment. $5,000 of a county’s $10,000 cap
may be used for EM equipment.

With funds provided by the US Department of Justice Formula Grant Program

CONTACT

For further information, contact Bridget Coppersmith, Juvenile Justice
Specialist at phone:(605) 773-3478, fax: (605) 773-3194, Address: South
Dakota Department of Corrections, 3200 East Highway 34, Pierre, SD 57501-
5070.

=
gy
| —
(@)
®)
| -
al
.’
-
)
&
)
n
| _—
-
O
=
&)
nd
7))
)
o
=
| —
)
p)
)
-
)
>
-
I_>

SD DOC Juvenile Reimbursement Program
Revised: January 2016



